The Ohio Senate is the upper house of the Ohio General Assembly. The State Senate, which meets in the Ohio Statehouse in Columbus, first convened in 1803. Senators are elected for four year terms, staggered every two years such that half of the seats are contested at each election.[1] Even numbered seats and odd numbered seats are contested in separate election years. The president of the Ohio Senate presides over the body when in session, and is currently Matt Huffman.

Currently, the Senate consists of 25 Republicans and eight Democrats, with the Republicans controlling three more seats than the 22 required for a supermajority vote. Senators are limited to two consecutive terms. Each senator represents approximately 349,000 Ohioans, and each Senate district encompasses three corresponding Ohio House of Representatives districts.


134th General Assembly (2021-2022)

(Shading indicates majority caucus)
End of previous Assembly924330
Begin (January 4, 2021)825330
Latest voting share24.2%75.8%


President of the SenateMatt Huffman
President Pro TemporeJay Hottinger
Majority Leadership
Majority Floor LeaderKirk Schuring
Majority WhipRob McColley
Minority Leadership
Minority LeaderKenny Yuko
Assistant Minority LeaderNickie Antonio
Minority WhipTina Maharath
Assistant Minority WhipHearcel Craig

Other Officers

Clerk: According to the Rules of the Senate, the clerk is elected by the members of the Senate and is tasked with maintaining records of all Senate bills and resolutions. The clerk is also responsible for handling all documents received from other government departments.[2]

Members of the 133rd Senate

Senate districts by party

DistrictSenatorPartyResidenceCounties representedTerm LimitedFirst Elected
1Rob McColleyRepublicanNapoleonAuglaize, Defiance, Fulton, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Paulding, Putnam, Van Wert, Williams20262017*
2Theresa GavaroneRepublicanBowling GreenErie, Fulton, Lucas, Ottawa, Wood20282019*
3Tina MaharathDemocraticCanal WinchesterFranklin20262018
4George LangRepublicanWest ChesterButler20282020
5Steve HuffmanRepublicanTipp CityDarke, Miami, Montgomery, Preble20262018
6Niraj AntaniRepublicanMiamisburgMontgomery20282020
7Steve WilsonRepublicanMainevilleButler, Hamilton, Warren20262017*
8Louis BlessingRepublicanColerain TownshipHamilton20282019*
9Cecil ThomasDemocraticCincinnatiHamilton20222014
10Bob HackettRepublicanLondonClark, Greene, Madison20242016*
11Teresa FedorDemocraticToledoLucas20262018
12Matt HuffmanRepublicanLimaAllen, Auglaize, Champaign, Darke, Logan, Mercer, Shelby20242016
13Nathan ManningRepublicanNorth RidgevilleHuron, Lorain20262018
14Terry JohnsonRepublicanMcDermottAdams, Brown, Clermont, Lawrence, Scioto20282019*
15Hearcel CraigDemocraticColumbusFranklin20262018
16Stephanie KunzeRepublicanColumbusFranklin20242016
17Bob PetersonRepublicanJasper TownshipClinton, Fayette, Gallia, Highland, Jackson, Pickaway, Pike, Ross, Lawrence, Vinton20222012*
18Jerry CirinoRepublicanKirtlandGeauga, Lake, Portage20282020
19Andrew BrennerRepublicanPowellDelaware, Franklin, Knox20262018
20Tim SchafferRepublicanLancasterAthens, Fairfield, Guernsey, Hocking, Morgan, Muskingum, Pickaway20282018*
21Dale MartinDemocraticClevelandCuyahoga20222022
22Mark RomanchukRepublicanOntarioAshland, Holmes, Medina, Richland20282020
23Nickie AntonioDemocraticLakewoodCuyahoga20262018
24Matt DolanRepublicanChagrin FallsCuyahoga20242016
25Kenny YukoDemocraticRichmond HeightsCuyahoga, Lake20222014
26Bill ReinekeRepublicanEden TownshipCrawford, Marion, Morrow, Sandusky, Seneca, Union, Wyandot20282020
27Kristina RoegnerRepublicanHudsonStark, Summit, Wayne20262018
28Vernon SykesDemocraticAkronSummit20242016
29Kirk SchuringRepublicanCantonStark20262018
30Frank HoaglandRepublicanAdenaAthens, Belmont, Carroll, Harrison, Jefferson, Meigs, Monroe, Noble, Vinton, Washington20242016
31Jay HottingerRepublicanNewarkCoshocton, Holmes, Licking, Perry, Tuscarawas20222014
32Sandra O’BrienRepublicanRomeAshtabula, Geauga, Trumbull20282020
33Michael RulliRepublicanSalemColumbiana, Mahoning20262018

Past composition of the Senate


  1. ^ Article II, section 2, Ohio Constitution.
  2. ^ “Rules of the Senate | The Ohio Legislature”. Retrieved 2016-03-09.

External links